Search for courses or information

Library, ARCHIVES and Learning Services

Library, Archive and Learning Services provide access to high-quality academic resources, expert advice, and inspirational study spaces in modern library buildings on both Stratford and Docklands campuses, open 24/7 during term time.

Welcome to UEL Library and Archive Services

    Our library services

    Library, Archives and Learning Services is at the heart of the University. We have an excellent range of resources and facilities to help you with your studies, and are committed to offering you a first-class student experience.

    We have new, modern library facilities on both campuses offering inspirational environments for study and research. Libraries contain resources in print and digital formats, a range of study spaces and expert staff to advise and assist with your learning.

     

     

    Our Library services

    Docklands library

    Docklands Library, located at our Docklands Campus, University Way, offers a first-class learning experience. Overlooking Gallions Point Marina, it provides a stimulating space for study and a comprehensive collection of resources. With helpful and friendly staff, 24/7 opening hours during term-time, and different study spaces to suit all needs, the library is the heart of the university. 

    Docklands Library

    Stratford library

    The newly built award-winning Stratford Library provides an inspirational setting for study and research. Situated at our Stratford campus in Water Lane and open 24/7 during term-time, the library has a range of study spaces including group study rooms, quiet study areas and individual silent study carrels. It also offers a high-quality collection of resources and a knowledgeable team of friendly specialist staff who are always happy to help.

    Stratford Library

    Our Vision and Values

    Our Vision:  To empower our users to unleash tomorrow's possibilities through critical and innovative, and inclusive learning, research, and digital engagement practices that drive them to boundless achievements in employment and in life. 

    Our Values:

    • We celebrate our richly diverse population of users through respect for individual rights, opinions and identities.
    • We provide intellectually safe but challenging, engaging and inclusive learning and research environments to foster independent learning, creativity and innovation.
    • We believe in equitable access to information and are committed to supporting our users toward information and digital literacy.
    • We empower our users to positively impact the development of our local communities and the world.

    Opening Hours

    Building Open

    Monday 6th January - Sunday 5th April

    Building Open

    Monday - Friday 24 hours 

    Saturday                          24 hours

    Sunday                              24 hours

     

     

    Staffed Service

    Monday 6th January - Sunday 5th April

    Staffed Service

    Monday - Friday             9am - 8pm

    Saturday                  12pm - 5pm

    Sunday                              Self-service

     

      

    Easter opening hours

    DAY

    BUILDING OPEN
    STAFFED SERVICE
    Monday 6th April - Wednesday 8th April
    24 hours
    9am - 5pm
    Thursday 9th April
    until 9pm
    9am - 5pm
     Friday 10th April (Good Friday) 10am - 5pm Self-service
    Saturday 11th April - Sunday 12th April
    10am - 5pm
    Self-service
    Monday 13th April (Easter Monday)
    10am - 5pm Self-service
    Tuesday 14th April - Friday 17th April
    9am then 24 hours
    9am - 5pm
     Saturday 18th April - Sunday 19th April 24 hours Self-service
     Monday 20th April - Friday 24th April 24 hours 9am - 8pm
     Saturday 25th April - Sunday 26th April 24 hours 12pm - 5pm     Saturday

    Self-service      Sunday
     Monday 27th April - Friday 1st May  24 hours 9am - 8pm

     

    May opening hours

    DAY
    BUILDING OPEN
    STAFFED SERVICE
    Saturday 2nd May - Sunday 3rd May
    24 hours
    12pm - 5pm      Saturday
    Self-service       Sunday
    Monday 4th May - Thursday 7th May
    24 hours (closes 9pm Thursday)
    9am - 8pm
    Friday 8th May (Bank holiday) 9am - 9pm Self-service
    Saturday 9th May - Sunday 10th May
    10am - 5pm
    Self-service

    Monday 11th May - Friday 15th May
    9am - 9pm
    9am - 5pm
    Saturday 16th May - Sunday 17th May 10am - 5pm Self-service
    Monday 18th May - Friday 22nd May 9am - 9pm 9am - 5pm
     Saturday 23rd May - Sunday 24th May  10am - 5pm Self-service

    Library access for current students

    Library intranet

    UEL has an internal website for all current students. Click on the link below to access the Library site.

    Search the Library's collections

    Last updated: 28/06/2018

    The help I received from Library services was second to none
    Nasra Al-Hubesh , BA (Hons) Business Management
    blurred banner 4

    Contact us

    General Library Enquiries
    library@uel.ac.uk
    Your email will be answered within one working day.

    Docklands Campus Library
    Docklands Campus
    University Way
    London E16 2RD
    Tel: 020 8223 3434

    Stratford Campus Library
    Stratford Campus
    Water Lane
    London E15 4LZ
    Tel: 020 8223 4646