Search for courses or information

HR Services - What we do

We offer a comprehensive HR service to all staff at UEL.

HR Services

We work to ensure staff are both committed to and equipped for achieving UEL's strategic objectives. We also play a key role in supporting positive cultural change.

We offer comprehensive support in the following areas:

  • HR Operations and Policies
  • Payroll
  • HR Systems & Reward
  • Learning & Development
  • Organisational Effectiveness
  • Equality & Diversity

Our HR Teams

    With a named HR Business Partner and HR Assistant allocated to each School and Service we provide dedicated support in the following areas:
    • Employment advice
    • Recruitment support
    • Employment policies
    • Organisational change
    • Employee relations

    We provide a payroll service which focuses on our customers and their needs, paying accurately and on time, within statutory and contractual regulations.

    All employees have access to their payslip electronically and can make changes to their personal details using UEL's Self Service application.

    We provide systems support to, not just the HR team, but to all employees within UEL through our Employee Self Service and People Manager portals.  In addition we support managers with key management information and details around HERA.

    UEL’s continuing success as a thriving modern university depends on recruiting, engaging and developing staff who have the skills, knowledge and experience to deliver our strategic plan and ensure both academic and service excellence.

    The Staff Learning and Development policy builds on our achievement of Investors in People (IIP) Bronze.  The key principles of the policy are that it should develop staff, enhance communications and relationships, build UEL as an organisation and create supporting systems and processes. 

    We are responsible for a wide range of projects that relate to the continuous development of how we manage, develop and engage our staff.  We also provide general HR support to each School & Service through consultancy & provision of bespoke solutions to staff issues at all levels.

    Other areas of particular responsibility include: developing HR Strategy; facilitating staff engagement using annual Staff Surveys; promoting effective standards of management; taking the lead with our Performance and Development Review Scheme (PDR); supporting Staff Induction and our Learning and Development team.
    Equality, diversity and inclusion are in our DNA. We continue to demonstrate our commitment to equality and inclusion by recruiting and supporting a diverse staff and student body, where everyone has the same opportunity to achieve their full potential and can contribute to making UEL the best it can be.

    Contacting the HR Teams

    HR Director - Peter Gregory
    Email: P.Gregory@uel.ac.uk

    PA/Administrator, HR Services & Corporate Services - Yasmin Miah
    Email: Y.Miah@uel.ac.uk

    Senior HR Business Partner - David Douglas

    Corporate Services (Vice Chancellors Group, HR Services and Health & Safety Unit)

    Email: d.l.douglas@uel.ac.uk


    HR Business Partner - Alison Bell

    College of Arts, Technologies & Innovation, IT Services and Academic Partnership Office

    Email: a.bell@uel.ac.uk


    HR Business Partner - Andrea Diable

    College of Professional Services (Business & Law), Academic Registry, Research, Innovation & Enterprise, Estates & Facilities and Student Support

    Email: a.diable@uel.ac.uk


    HR Business Partner - David Goodwin

    College of Applied Health & Communities, UEL Sports, Student Recruitment & Marketing, Quality Assurance & Enhancement and Communications

    Email: d.goodwin@uel.ac.uk

     ‌‌

    HR Business Partner - Tisha Thomas

    College of Professional Services (Cass), Financial Services, Library & Learning Support, Strategic Planning, Centre for Student Success

    Email: t.thomas@uel.ac.uk

     

    HR Officer - Angela Naidoo

    College of Arts, Technologies & Innovation (ADI), Financial Services, Library & Learning Support and Quality Assurance & Enhancement

    Email: a.naidoo@uel.ac.uk 

     

    HR Assistant - Alicia Francis

    College of Professional Services (Cass), College of Applied Health & Communities (HSB), Centre for Student Success, Academic Registry and Student Support

    Email: A.E.Francis@uel.ac.uk


    HR Assistant - Lorraine Kirkwood

    College of Arts, Technologies & Innovation (ACE), College of Professional Services (Business & Law), Student Recruitment & Marketing, Academic Partnership Office, Strategic Planning, HR Services and Health & Safety Unit

    Email: l.kirkwood@uel.ac.uk


    HR Assistant - Sandra Pierre

    College of Professional Services (Cass), College of Applied Health & Communities, UEL Sports, IT Services and Research, Innovation & Enterprise

    Email: s.r.pierre@uel.ac.uk


    HR Assistant – Alicia Andrew 

    Currently on Leave

    Email: A.Andrew@uel.ac.uk


    HR Assistant (Contracts & Compliance) - Caroline Wanjiru

    Estates & Facilities, Communications, Guest Lecturers, Visiting Lecturers and Compliance

    Email: c.wanjiru@uel.ac.uk
    Systems & Reward Manager – Rosalynd Milroy
    Email: R.Milroy@uel.ac.uk 

    Systems & Reward Officer - Sukhi Bansal
    Email: S.Bansal@uel.ac.uk
    Payroll Manager - Florence Alozie
    Email: f.alozie@uel.ac.uk

    Senior Payroll Officer - Paul Kinsman
    Email: p.r.kinsman@uel.ac.uk
     
    Payroll Officer - Christine Deasy
    Email: c.deasy@uel.ac.uk

    Pensions Officer - Barbara White
    Email: b.j.white@uel.ac.uk

    Senior HR Business Partner (Organisational Effectiveness) - Greg Price
    Email: G.Price@uel.ac.uk

    HR Project Manager – Julia Willis
    Email: J.Willis@uel.ac.uk

    HR Project Manager - Jessica Young
    Email: J.C.Young@uel.ac.uk

    Learning and Development Officer - Nina Harding
    Email: n.harding@uel.ac.uk

    Equality & Diversity Manager - Irfaan Arif
    Email: I.Arif@uel.ac.uk

    Equality Charters Manager - Clare Matysova
    Email: C.Matysova@uel.ac.uk

    Equality & Diversity Officer - Mariam Irshad
    Email: m.irshad@uel.ac.uk

    Investors in People bronze logo
    Rospa Gold Medal Award 2015 logo
    Stonewall diversity champion logo
    London living wage employer logo
    UK Quality Assured logo
    Two Ticks employer logo
    Disabled Go logo