Search for courses or information

HR Services - What we do

We offer a comprehensive HR service to all staff at UEL.

HR Services

We work to ensure staff are both committed to and equipped for achieving UEL's strategic objectives. We also play a key role in supporting positive cultural change.

We offer comprehensive support in the following areas:

  • HR Operations and Policies
  • Payroll
  • HR Systems & Reward
  • Learning & Development
  • Organisational Effectiveness
  • Equality & Diversity

Our HR Teams

    With a named HR Business Partner and HR Assistant allocated to each School and Service we provide dedicated support in the following areas:
    • Employment advice
    • Recruitment support
    • Employment policies
    • Organisational change
    • Employee relations

    HR Operations and Policies

    We provide a payroll service which focuses on our customers and their needs, paying accurately and on time, within statutory and contractual regulations.

    All employees have access to their payslip electronically and can make changes to their personal details using UEL's Self Service application.

    Payroll

    We provide systems support to, not just the HR team, but to all employees within UEL through our Employee Self Service and People Manager portals.  In addition we support managers with key management information and details around HERA.

    HR Systems & Reward

    UEL’s continuing success as a thriving modern university depends on recruiting, engaging and developing staff who have the skills, knowledge and experience to deliver our strategic plan and ensure both academic and service excellence.

    The Staff Learning and Development policy builds on our achievement of Investors in People (IIP) Bronze.  The key principles of the policy are that it should develop staff, enhance communications and relationships, build UEL as an organisation and create supporting systems and processes. 

    Learning & Development

    We are responsible for a wide range of projects that relate to the continuous development of how we manage, develop and engage our staff.  We also provide general HR support to each School & Service through consultancy & provision of bespoke solutions to staff issues at all levels.

    Other areas of particular responsibility include: developing HR Strategy; facilitating staff engagement using annual Staff Surveys; promoting effective standards of management; taking the lead with our Performance and Development Review Scheme (PDR); supporting Staff Induction and our Learning and Development team.

    Organisational Effectiveness

    Equality, diversity and inclusion are in our DNA. We continue to demonstrate our commitment to equality and inclusion by recruiting and supporting a diverse staff and student body, where everyone has the same opportunity to achieve their full potential and can contribute to making UEL the best it can be.

    Equality & Diversity

    Contacting the HR Teams

    Head of HR Services - Alison McGrand
    Email: a.mcgrand@uel.ac.uk

    PA/Administrator, HR Services & Corporate Services - Yasmin Miah
    Email: Y.Miah@uel.ac.uk

    Senior HR Business Partner - David Douglas

    Corporate Services (Estates and Facilities, HR Services and Health & Safety Unit)

    Email: d.l.douglas@uel.ac.uk


    HR Business Partner - Alison Bell

    School of Architecture, Computing & Engineering, School of Social Sciences, Academic Partnership Office, Communications, IT Services and Student Support.

    Email: a.bell@uel.ac.uk


    HR Business Partner - Andrea Lechner

    School of Business & Law, School of Health, Sports & Biosciences, Marketing & Student Recruitment and Research, Innovation & Enterprise.

    Email: a.lechner@uel.ac.uk


    HR Business Partner - David Goodwin

    CASS School of Education & Communities, School of Psychology, Strategic Planning, Learning & Teaching and UEL Sports.

    Email: d.goodwin@uel.ac.uk

     ‌‌

    HR Business Partner - Tisha Thomas

    School of Arts & Digital Industries, Academic Registry, Financial Services and Library & Learning Support

    Email: t.thomas@uel.ac.uk

     

    HR Officer - Angela Naidoo

    School of Arts and Digital Industries, Financial Services and compliance.

    Email: a.naidoo@uel.ac.uk 

     

    HR Assistant - Alicia Francis

    School of Social Sciences, Academic Registry, Library & Learning Support and Centre for Student Success

    Email: A.E.Francis@uel.ac.uk


    HR Assistant - Lorraine Kirkwood

    School of Architecture, Computing & Engineering, Academic Partnership Office, Communications, Corporate Services and Marketing & Student Recruitment, School of Business and Law

    Email: l.kirkwood@uel.ac.uk


    HR Assistant - Sandra Pierre

    School of Psychology, Cass School of Education and Communities, IT Services, Research, Innovation & Enterprise, UEL Sports and Vice-Chancellor's Group

    Email: s.r.pierre@uel.ac.uk


    HR Assistant – Alicia Andrew 

    School of Architecture, Computing and Engineering, School of Health, Sport and Biosciences, Strategic Planning

    Email: A.Andrew@uel.ac.uk


    HR Assistant (Contracts & Compliance) - Caroline Wanjiru

    Guest Lecturers, Visiting Lecturers and compliance

    Email: c.wanjiru@uel.ac.uk
    Systems & Reward Manager – Rosalynd Milroy
    Email: R.Milroy@uel.ac.uk 

    Systems & Reward Officer - Sukhi Bansal
    Email: S.Bansal@uel.ac.uk
    Payroll Manager - Florence Alozie
    Email: f.alozie@uel.ac.uk

    Senior Payroll Officer - Paul Kinsman
    Email: p.r.kinsman@uel.ac.uk
     
    Payroll Officer - Christine Deasy
    Email: c.deasy@uel.ac.uk

    Pensions Officer - Barbara White
    Email: b.j.white@uel.ac.uk
    Senior HR Business Partner (Organisational Effectiveness) - Greg Price
    Email: G.Price@uel.ac.uk

    HR Project Manager – Julia Willis
    Email: J.Willis@uel.ac.uk
    Learning and Development Officer - Nina Harding
    Email: n.harding@uel.ac.uk
    Equality & Diversity Manager - Irfaan Arif
    Email: I.Arif@uel.ac.uk

    Equality & Diversity Officer - Mariam Irshad
    Email: m.irshad@uel.ac.uk
    Investors in People bronze logo
    Rospa Gold Medal Award 2015 logo
    Stonewall diversity champion logo
    London living wage employer logo
    UK Quality Assured logo
    Two Ticks employer logo
    Disabled Go logo